Students – Gender-bending

Conversation class with 13 year old Korean, female students. Their English isn’t great but they can communicate.

Me: “What is your dream?”

Student: “My dream is to be a businessman!”

“Businessman? You want to be a man?”

[All the other girls giggle]

“Yes! First I want to be a man. Then I want to be a businessman.”

“But, to become a man is very expensive. The doctors will want a lot of money.”

“Teacher, transgender no! I just want look like man.”

“You just want to look like a man?”

“Yes! Man is very handsome~”

“Do you want a boyfriend?”

“No!”

“…You just want to look like a man?”

“Yes!”

“Okay…”

Now every time I see her in the hallway I say “Ah, hello businessman.” She giggles.

Also, I’ve no idea how all the kids know what transgender means…

About gtothec

I like to observe things and then make comments about my observations in a humorous fashion; hence the blogging.
This entry was posted in Grace, Students and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

